On This Day in IUPUI History: November 6, 2001

November 6, 2001. 

On this day, IUPUI chancellor Gerald L. Bepko honored twenty IUPUI staff and faculty members at the Chancellor's Employee Recognition Convocation, a first-of-its-kind event. A collaborative effort of Human Resources Administration, the IUPUI Staff Council, and the Chancellor's Office, the aim was to celebrate staff for their service and achievements. Previously, university leaders presented awards at disparate events in the IUPUI calendar. A full house was on hand to witness and cheer on the recipients.

At the convocation, Bepko awarded the Glenn W. Irwin, Jr. Experience Excellence Award, named after the former IUPUI chancellor, to staff and faculty who "go above and beyond the call of duty." The Carol D. Nathan Staff Award, named after former associate dean of the faculties Carol Nathan, is a scholarship to assist staff and faculty in pursuit of additional higher education. Finally, the Staff Council Spirit Award was given to four staff members in recognition of "extraordinary service or special contributions." 

Staff recognition has a long history at IUPUI. the university has appreciated the important contributions of employees for many years. The Irwin Award is much coveted, as are the Nathan and Staff Council awards.

Carol Nathan, center, helps present the Carol D. Nathan Staff Award, 1981 181-1069-001

To learn more about staff awards at IUPUI, please visit IUPUI Special Collections and Archives speccoll@iupui.edu.

Updated Nov 06, 2018 by Editor Name Missing