CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Social Work

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • STAT!REF

    Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.  IUPUI access includes the following:

    • AAFP Conditions A to Z (2013)
    • Best Practices in Infection Prevention and Control (2nd Ed : 2012)
    • International Perspective (2nd Ed. : 2012)
    • Introductions to Epidemiology (5th Ed. : 2010)
    • MedCalc 3000: Complete Edition
    • Oxford Textbook of Public Health (5th Ed. : 2009)
    • Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (28th Ed. : 2006)

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.

    This database is partially paid for by INSPIRE.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions (ProQuest)

    This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at your institution.

  • Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest)

    This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

  • Encyclopedia of Social Work

    Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the 20th edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field. This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • ERIC (ProQuest)

    The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.

  • Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)

    An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.

  • GenderWatch (ProQuest)

    GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining more than 200 academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with more than 100,000 articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.

  • PolicyFile

    A unique database indexing research and publication abstracts addressing the complete range of US public policy research.

  • Project Muse

    Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

    Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions (ProQuest)

    This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at your institution.

  • Proquest Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest)

    This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

  • PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

    PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists.

  • PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)

    PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. This traditional version offers basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.

    Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,400 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally.

  • PsycTESTS

    Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycTESTS serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.

  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1987-present)

    The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It is a database in the Web of Science.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)

    Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

  • Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)

    Social Work Abstracts Plus provides two unique databases in one subscription: Social Work Abstracts and The Register of Clinical Social Workers. Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present.

  • Social Work History Station

    Covers the history of social work from its 19th century beginnings up to World War II. Sponsored by the School of Social Work at Boise State University.

  • Social Work Research Guide

  • SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)

    SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for over 700 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for over 11,000 conference papers.

  • Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

    CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

  • STAT!REF

    Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.  IUPUI access includes the following:

    • AAFP Conditions A to Z (2013)
    • Best Practices in Infection Prevention and Control : International Perspective (2nd Ed : 2012)
    • Introductions to Epidemiology (5th Ed. : 2010)
    • MedCalc 3000: Complete Edition
    • Oxford Textbook of Public Health (5th Ed. : 2009)
    • Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (28th Ed. : 2006)

  • STAT!REF (Access to DSM-IV)

    Provides access to full-text electronic information in latest editions of medical, chemical and pharmacological texts, dictionaries and indexes. Subjects range from emergency-critical care, nursing, oncology, pediatrics, point of care, primary care, psychiatry, pharmacology and cardiology.

  • THOMAS: Legislative Information

    The full texts of congressional bills, Congressional Record, historical documents, and legislative process.