CAN'T CONNECT?

Databases by Subject : Physical Education

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.

    This database is partially paid for by INSPIRE.

  • Anatomy.TV

    Includes detailed multi-layer graphics of all areas of the human body. Also includes animated graphical simulations of common muscle movements, information for patients with explanatory text. All movies/animations can be played using Windows Media player, QuickTime player or RealPlayer.

  • Annual Reviews

    Provides the full-text of authoritative literature reviews covering a variety of social science and science disciplines. It includes both broad and deep coverage of the life, health, and medical sciences. Can be searched by individual title, subject series, or across the entire collection.

  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

    Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.

  • Education Source

    Developed from a merger of databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.

  • ERIC (EBSCO)

    Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.

  • ERIC (ProQuest)

    The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.

  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)

    Family & Society Studies Worldwide database provides the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice.

    Coverage spans from 1970 to the present indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources.

  • Global Issues In Context (Gale)

    Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database. Requires Windows Media Player (version 9.0 and higher) and QuickTime (version 7.0 and higher).

  • Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)

    This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO)

    A consumer-health database.

  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

    This resource provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child + Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Family Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner, Western Journal of Nursing Research, and many more.

  • International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest)

    IIPA Full Text, a performing arts journal resource with nearly 350,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to current, covering film, theatre and dance.

  • Leisure Tourism (CABI)

    LeisureTourism.com contains extensive information from the leisure, recreation, sport, hospitality, tourism and culture sectors, including: new academic research, industry reports, books, book reviews and news.  It contains Leisure, Recreation and Tourism Abstracts.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • MEDLINE (EBSCO)

    Research authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more with MEDLINE®.

  • MEDLINE (Ovid)

    The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • MEDLINE In-Process & Non-Indexed Citations (Ovid)

    Database of MEDLINE records in progress.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Physical Education Index (ProQuest)

    The surge of academic, professional and personal interest in the field of physical education has resulted in a huge volume of scholarly and trade literature. Since 1970 Physical Education Index has been covering this vast collection of material. Records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Beginning in January 2001, enhancements to the database include the addition of abstracts, e-mail addresses, expanded publisher and author information, and other data to facilitate access to the fulltext.

  • Physical Education Research Guide

  • Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)

    The database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.

  • Project Muse

    Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

    Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web.

  • PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)

    PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. This traditional version offers basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.

    Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,400 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally.

  • PubMed

    PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Rehabilitation Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)

    Rehabilitation Therapy in Video is a collection of streaming videos created specifically for the education and training of occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech-language pathologists, special educators and therapy assistants.  Therapist notes and leader guides are also included for most of the titles and the videos have been approved for educational use by accrediting agencies such as AOTA, APTA and ASHA.  New videos will be added regularly, ensuring that users always have the most up-to-date video content available. Videos may be replaced (and archived) in order to reflect changes in accepted practices and principles.

  • SPORTDiscus w/ Full Text (EBSCO)

    SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 230 full text titles. In addition, SPORTDiscus with Full Text also contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Click here for more info.

  • Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)

    Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.