Databases by Subject : Music
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?
-
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews in over 390 leading English-language periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere. The database includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.
-
ERIC (ProQuest)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (Alexander Street Press)
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. This release includes 1,208 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples. For best performance Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0 or Firefox 1.0 or higher are recommended.
-
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online (now known as Oxford Music Online) offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
This resource provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child + Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Family Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner, Western Journal of Nursing Research, and many more.
-
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Humanities Abstracts Full Text contains abstracting and indexing coverage for all 500 periodicals included in Humanities Index as well as the full text of over 160 periodicals, offering instant access to information from publications such as: American Journalism Review; American Poetry Review; Art Journal; Asian Folklore Studies; Canadian Journal of History; Central European History; Contemporary Review; Dance Magazine; Film Criticism; Journal of Popular Culture; Opera News; Perspectives of New Music; Scandinavian Studies; World Literature Today. Subjects: Archeology; Art; Communications; Drama; Film; Folklore; History; Humanities; Language; Literature; Music; Philosophy; Photography; Religion.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
Humanities International Index (EBSCO)
Humanities International Index™ is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles and contains more than 1.6 million records. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
-
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest)
music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
-
International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest)
IIPA Full Text, a performing arts journal resource with nearly 350,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to current, covering film, theatre and dance.
-
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/
Need Help? Try this tutorial
- Music Index Online (EBSCO)
- Music Research Guide
-
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online (formerly known as Grove Music Online) offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
-
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web. -
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. This traditional version offers basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.
Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,400 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. -
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of Music Literature, published by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, New York, contains records in over 200 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes. RILM currently contains nearly 300,000 entries. Approximately 20,000 new entries are added annually. RILM offers a broad international coverage base and it includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes - provided the items are of scholarly interest. Subject areas include: historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics.
