CAN'T CONNECT?

Databases by Subject : Library & Information Science

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • American Reference Books Annual Online

    Dr. Bohdan S. Wynar, the founder of Libraries Unlimited, compiled the first volume of American Reference Books Annual (ARBA) in 1970 to provide librarians with a reliable tool to select the best reference materials for their collections and inform them of the most current resources available. Over the years, ARBA has evolved with the ever-changing library profession by providing reviews of electronic products and serving as a source of information on professional products for librarians and information specialists. ARBA is noted for providing reviews written by librarians for librarians.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)

    Book Review Digest provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of current adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Over 7,000 English-language books are covered by the database each year. Concise, critical evaluations are chosen from 109 leading American, British and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, social and general sciences, as well as library review media. Covering a wide range of review media and offering an enormous variety of reviews -- all carefully excerpted to convey the diversity of critical opinion on a title -- Book Review Digest is the most convenient way for patrons to obtain information on prominent new books.

    This database covers the period 1983-present.

  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)

    Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two.

    Reviews of the following types of books are excluded: government publications, textbooks, and technical books in the sciences and law. However, books on science for the general reader are included. The reviews originate in a group of selected periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, and general science published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain.

    This database covers the period 1905-1982.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Cabell's Directories

    The Cabell's Directories to which we have access include:

    • Accounting
    • Economics & Finance
    • Educational Curriculum & Methods
    • Educational Psychology & Administration
    • Educational Technology & Library Science.
    • Management
    • Marketing
    • Psychology & Psychiatry

  • Children's Core Collection (EBSCO)

    Children's Core Collection is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists.
    Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction, story collections, and picture books are designated Fic, S C, and E.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Choice Reviews Online

     

    Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and Choice Reviews Online for collection development and scholarly research. Choice reaches almost every undergraduate college and university library in the United States.

  • Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Guide to Reference

    Guide to Reference is a selective guide to the best reference sources, organized by academic discipline and published by the American Library Association. Users in libraries subscribing to Guide to Reference can set up a profile to create and save lists and notes to use in their reference and research work. Do NOT use your campus password.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires Flash)

  • Journal Citation Reports (ISI)

    Journal Citation Reports® is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:


    •    Most frequently cited journals in a field
    •    Highest impact journals in a field
    •    Largest journals in a field


    Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison.


    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Library & Information Science Research Guide

  • Library & Information Science Source

    Developed by librarians from a merger of databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database provides full-text coverage and high-quality indexing to help librarians and researchers to keep pace with the latest trends in a rapidly evolving field of library and information science.

  • Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) (ProQuest)

    Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists.

    LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
    Major areas of coverage include:
    Artificial intelligence; Book reviews; CD-ROMs;
    Computer applications; Information centres; Information technology, storage and management;
    Internet technology; Knowledge management;
    Librarianship; Libraries and archives; Library management, use and users; Medical information;
    Online information retrieval; Publishing and bookselling; Records management; Telecommunications and the Web.

  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text (EBSCO)

    Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

  • MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO)

    This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, American Visions, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers + Colleges, Civil War Times Illustrated, CQ Weekly, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 88,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra (School Edition) contains more than 540 pamphlets, nearly 150 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac + Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps + flags, color PDF and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

  • Middle and Junior High Core Collection (EBSCO)

    Middle and Junior High Core Collection is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young people in grades five through nine, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction and story collections are designated Fic and S C.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)

    Middle Search Plus, designed specifically for middle school libraries, contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.

  • Primary Search (EBSCO)

    Primary Search contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.

  • Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction (EBSCO)

    Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction (formerly called Public Library Catalog) is a selective annotated list of nonfiction and reference works with analytical entries for anthologies, collections, and parts of books. Works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • RCLweb (Resources for College Libraries)

    RCLweb, which includes an online database, enables easy searching by a variety of criteria including author, subject, title, format, audience, and LC Classification Number. Updated regularly, RCLweb offers the most current core title selections for your collection development, reference, and acquisition needs. The core list features over 65,000 titles in 61 curriculum-specific subjects. Titles have been selected for your academic library by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers.

  • Reader's Advisor Online

    A book-finding tool based on the advice of top reader’s advisory experts; covers over 400 genres, subgenres, and reading interests; includes fiction and nonfiction; and links fiction and nonfiction for read-alikes.

  • Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)

    Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

    Subjects Covered
    Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Senior High Core Collection (EBSCO)

    Senior High Core Collection (formerly Senior High School Library Catalog) is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve, along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It consists of fiction titles, nonfiction titles, and short story collections. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction and story collections are designated Fic and S C.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Short Story Index (EBSCO)

    Short Story Index is the electronic version of the standard reference work Short Story Index. It is an index to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index.

  • SIRS Discoverer

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, SIRS Discoverer is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades 1-9. Discoverer is intended to help students develop their research, writing, language, and computer skills.

  • SIRS Government Reporter

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, SIRS Government Reporter delivers thousands of full-text documents, summaries and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. Articles and graphics are carefully selected according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.  Additional content provides current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about U.S. Justices, U.S. Presidents, elected leaders, federal departments and agencies. National Archives Documents and Country Profiles are also included.

  • SIRS Issues Researcher

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12.  It delivers the content, context and connections for research and analysis of the leading issues surrounding the most debated and protracted contemporary issues. 

  • SIRS Knowledge Source

    SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) Intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12, SIRS SKS provides a portal to access to entire suite of SIRS SKS. 

  • SIRS Renaissance

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. SIRS Renaissance (Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities) is a reference database that provides information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, plus visual arts.  Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,000 domestic and international publications.  Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.

  • SIRS WebSelect

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. SIRS WebSelect is an online database of carefully selected, reliable and credible Internet resources on vital issues and topics. WebSelect is dynamically updated and offers Internet resources from around the globe, including those of leading universities, government agencies and respected organizations.

  • Something About the Author Online (Gale)

    Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • TeachingBooks.net (through INSPIRE)

    TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that is dedicated to adding a multimedia dimension to everyone's reading experiences of children's and young adult books. TeachingBooks.net strives for all teachers, librarians, students, and families to use today's online technologies to meet and learn from the author when reading his or her book. This link gives IUPUI patrons access to most of TeachingBook.net’s resources without registering, including thousands of author videos, book discussion guides, audio book readings, and more. If users want unlimited access to all materials available in the TeachingBooks.net database, they must click on this link and fill out the brief profile (must enter your IUPUI email address).

  • Web of Science

    The Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial