CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Journalism

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • 19th Century UK Periodicals (Gale)

    19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)

    ABI/INFORM Complete includes three distinct databases:

    ABI/INFORM Dateline - Local and regional coverage of company, industry and business news; excellent source of information about private and small public companies not typically found in the national business press.

    ABI/INFORM Global - Search 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on business topics: advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, management; also company and industry information.

    ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry - Contains more than 700 trade publications covering every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and health.

  • AdvertisingAge

    IUPUI’s subscription to Ad Age includes access to the weekly publication as well as the DataCenter which features features premium content, including profiles of top advertisers, media, agencies, special databases, and more.  Access to the DataCenter is available via a tab from AdvertisingAge or by clicking here.

  • American Periodicals (ProQuest)

    Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

  • AP Images

    AP Images provides a sensory journey of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history.

  • AP Stylebook Online

    The AP Stylebook Online takes the standard-setting AP Stylebook and adds online functionality. It is searchable and it’s updated live as the AP adds or changes its style listings, ensuring that you always have the most up-to-date rules and tips. You can use it from your work computer, your home computer, anyplace you have an Internet connection.

  • Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)

    Book Review Digest provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of current adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Over 7,000 English-language books are covered by the database each year. Concise, critical evaluations are chosen from 109 leading American, British and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, social and general sciences, as well as library review media. Covering a wide range of review media and offering an enormous variety of reviews -- all carefully excerpted to convey the diversity of critical opinion on a title -- Book Review Digest is the most convenient way for patrons to obtain information on prominent new books.

    This database covers the period 1983-present.

  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)

    Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two.

    Reviews of the following types of books are excluded: government publications, textbooks, and technical books in the sciences and law. However, books on science for the general reader are included. The reviews originate in a group of selected periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, and general science published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain.

    This database covers the period 1905-1982.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

    Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.

  • Canadian Newsstand (ProQuest)

    Canadian Newsstand offers unparalleled access to the full text of Canadian newspapers.

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

    Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

    Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • Historical Newspapers The New York Times (ProQuest)

    Deep backfile for The New York Times (1851-current) with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Humanities Source

  • Illustrated London News Historical Archive (Gale)

  • iPOLL Databank (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)

    A comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in polls in the US since 1935.

    For on demand access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys, see the RoperExpress database.

  • Journalism Research Guide

  • LexisNexis Academic

    LexisNexis Academic provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
    The 5,900 sources include:

    • National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
    • U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information
    • Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789
    • Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)

    Major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • McClatchy-Tribune Collection (EBSCO)

    The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service. The data is updated daily.

  • Media Intelligence Center (formerly known as Audit Bureau of Circulations)

    The Alliance for Audited Media (AAM)'s Media Intelligence Center, formerly known as Audit Bureau of Circulations (ABC), is a forum of the world's leading magazine and newspaper publishers, advertisers and advertising agencies. The organization provides credible, verified information essential to the media buying and selling process. Media Intelligence Center maintains the world's foremost electronic database of audited-circulation information and an array of verified readership, subscriber demographics and online activity data.

  • MediaMark Plus (MRI+)

    Published by the leading provider of magazine audience data to the advertising and marketing communities, this library of key magazine planning data resources provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from a national probability sample of 27,000 households.

    Click "Register for a FREE Account" and enter your IUPUI email address to create an account. You must use the campus email address ending in “@iupui.edu”. You will not be able to register using an email address ending in “@umail.iu.edu”. Do NOT use your campus password. If you have any questions regarding your IUPUI email addresses, please contact UITS at 317-274-4357.

    Restricted to authorized IUPUI users only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • New York Times (1980-present) (Proquest)

    Including access to most of current day’s content.

  • New York Times, Historical with Index (ProQuest)

    Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2005).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • NewsBank (Access World News)

    The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.

  • Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

    This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

  • Newspapers (ProQuest)

    Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources and news wires; includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London as well as local and regional publications.

  • Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Gale)

    19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.

  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

    Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • Picture Post Historical Archive (Gale)

  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)

    Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • ProQuest Newsstand (ProQuest)

    Search the full collection of newspapers.

  • RoperExpress (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)

    The library’s membership with the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research includes on demand access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys using RoperExpress.

    For the comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in polls in the US since 1935, see the iPOLL database.

  • SPORTDiscus w/ Full Text (EBSCO)

    SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 230 full text titles. In addition, SPORTDiscus with Full Text also contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Click here for more info.

  • Times Digital Archive (Gale)

    The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online.
    By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.

  • Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive (Gale)

    This rich, easy-to-navigate database is ideal for students and researchers of English literature and other humanities or social science subjects. Unparalleled opportunities for tracking the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th century are now possible in a powerful digital environment. More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the TLS are available, and-for the first time-the identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed.

  • Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (Gale)