CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Anthropology

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • Annual Reviews

    Provides the full-text of authoritative literature reviews covering a variety of social science and science disciplines. It includes both broad and deep coverage of the life, health, and medical sciences. Can be searched by individual title, subject series, or across the entire collection.

  • Anthropology Plus

    Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Beyond these disciplines, researchers and scholars in art history, demography, economics, genetics, geography, geology, history, psychology, religion, or sociology will all find relevant anthropological material.

    Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres. The result is extensive, worldwide coverage of core journals plus local and lesser-known journals. Together, Harvard University's highly respected Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) provide a uniquely broad and rich resource for education and research in anthropology and related fields

  • Anthropology Research Guide

  • AnthroSource

    AnthroSource is a fully integrated information resource.
    Its powerful search engine makes precision research quick and easy.
    AnthroSource is more than a content collection. It is an evolving, interactive repository of research and communications tools designed to bring the most credible and relevant of anthropological scholarship together in one place and to support a strong community of scholars, teachers, and students in the field.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Gale)

    Provides citations for biographical information on over 4 million people, from the beginning of time through present day.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)

    Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

    Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • HRAF: World Cultures

    eHRAF: World Cultures is a cross-cultural databases that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.

  • JSTOR

    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

    Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online

    This resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Encompassing over 5,000 entries, Oxford Islamic Studies Online includes 13 related major Oxford reference sources.

  • Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive (Gale)

    This rich, easy-to-navigate database is ideal for students and researchers of English literature and other humanities or social science subjects. Unparalleled opportunities for tracking the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th century are now possible in a powerful digital environment. More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the TLS are available, and-for the first time-the identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed.