Databases
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | 1 | 2 |
-
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Subject Areas : American Studies | History -
SAE Technical Papers
SAE Technical Papers are written and peer-reviewed by experts in the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. The library’s subscription gives access to more than 92,000 technical papers on the latest advances in technical research and applied technical engineering information.
Subject Areas : Engineering & Technology -
Science Citation Index Expanded (1987-present)
Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It is a database in the Web of Science.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Subject Areas : Science, General -
Science in Context (Gale)
(Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library
with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation)With Science in Context, thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards.
Subject Areas : Science, General
This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only. - Science Research Guide Subject Areas : Science, General
-
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
First time users will need to register here for an account. (This link will prompt you to enter your ADS username and password before directing you through the registration process)
Subject Areas : Chemistry
SciFinder Scholar provides the students, faculty, and staff of IUPUI access to the following Chemical Abstracts files for their university-related work: CA Plus, CASReact, and Registry. More about SciFinder Scholar. -
Scitation
Scitation provides online journal articles relevant to engineering, biophysics, chemical biology, bioinformatics, and computing.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Subject Areas : Biology | Computer Science | Engineering & Technology | Informatics | Physics -
SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect is your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Subject Areas : Biology | Chemistry | Computer Science | Engineering & Technology | Environmental Science | Geology and Earth Sciences | Mathematics | Medicine | Physics | Science, General -
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press)
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP) contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.
Subject Areas : Languages & Literature -
Senior High Core Collection (EBSCO)
Senior High Core Collection (formerly Senior High School Library Catalog) is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve, along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. It consists of fiction titles, nonfiction titles, and short story collections. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction and story collections are designated Fic and S C.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Subject Areas : Library & Information Science -
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive (Gale)
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Subject Areas : History | Newspapers -
Shakespeare Collection: Featuring The Arden Shakespeare Complete Works (Gale)
The Shakespeare Collection is the subject's most comprehensive and authoritative online resource, bringing together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare, the world's most recognized scholarly edition.
Subject Areas : Languages & Literature : English -
Shakespearean Criticism (Gale)
Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online
Subject Areas : Languages & Literature -
Short Story Criticism (Gale)
Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online
Subject Areas : Languages & Literature -
Short Story Index (EBSCO)
Short Story Index is the electronic version of the standard reference work Short Story Index. It is an index to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index.
Subject Areas : Library & Information Science -
SIRS Discoverer
(Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library
with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation)Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, SIRS Discoverer is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades 1-9. Discoverer is intended to help students develop their research, writing, language, and computer skills.
Subject Areas : Education | General Interest | Library & Information Science -
SIRS Government Reporter
(Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library
with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation)Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, SIRS Government Reporter delivers thousands of full-text documents, summaries and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. Articles and graphics are carefully selected according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness. Additional content provides current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about U.S. Justices, U.S. Presidents, elected leaders, federal departments and agencies. National Archives Documents and Country Profiles are also included.
Subject Areas : Education | Government Resources | Library & Information Science -
SIRS Issues Researcher
(Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library
with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation)Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. It delivers the content, context and connections for research and analysis of the leading issues surrounding the most debated and protracted contemporary issues.
Subject Areas : Education | General Interest | Library & Information Science -
SIRS Knowledge Source
(Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library
with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation)SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) Intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12, SIRS SKS provides a portal to access to entire suite of SIRS SKS.
Subject Areas : Education | General Interest | Library & Information Science -
SIRS Renaissance
(Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library
with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation)Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. SIRS Renaissance (Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities) is a reference database that provides information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, plus visual arts. Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,000 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.
Subject Areas : Education | General Interest | Library & Information Science -
SIRS WebSelect
(Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library
with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation)Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. SIRS WebSelect is an online database of carefully selected, reliable and credible Internet resources on vital issues and topics. WebSelect is dynamically updated and offers Internet resources from around the globe, including those of leading universities, government agencies and respected organizations.
Subject Areas : Education | General Interest | Library & Information Science -
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 (Alexander Street Press)
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics. The database currently has over 38,000 pages.
Subject Areas : American Studies | History | Political Science | Sociology -
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale)
Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a four-part collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. It includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials. The first part, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, documents the debates surrounding slavery and its abolition in the U.S. but also in the UK and other European countries, the Caribbean, Latin America, and Africa. Future parts are Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, and Age of Emancipation. Once completed, it will include over 5 million pages.
Subject Areas : African American Studies | History -
Small Business Resource Center (Gale)
(Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
Subject Areas : Business | Business : Accounting and Finance | Business : Company and Industry | Business : Management | Business : Marketing -
Snapshot Series (ProQuest)
Worldwide market data for a broad range of industries and regions.
Subject Areas : Business : Marketing
Snapdata International Group is the only market research company to specialize in top-line international market research overviews. The Snapshot International Group Series of 4,600 reports is designed to provide an instant overview of a market, and the data is supplied in both graphical and tabular format for ease of interpretation and analysis. All data is compiled in house by the Snapdata Research Department, an international team of research experts.
Coverage: 2001-current. -
Social Sciences Citation Index (1987-present)
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It is a database in the Web of Science.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Subject Areas : Economics | General Interest | Social Work -
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Subject Areas : Nursing | Social Work | Sociology -
Social Theory (Alexander Street Press)
Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The current release features more than 90,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Erving Goffman, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons.
Subject Areas : Sociology -
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)
Social Work Abstracts Plus provides two unique databases in one subscription: Social Work Abstracts and The Register of Clinical Social Workers. Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present.
Subject Areas : Nursing | Social Work | Sociology | Women's Studies -
Social Work History Station
Covers the history of social work from its 19th century beginnings up to World War II. Sponsored by the School of Social Work at Boise State University.
Subject Areas : Social Work - Social Work Research Guide Subject Areas : Social Work
-
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive sociology research database. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for over 700 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for over 11,000 conference papers.
Subject Areas : Social Work | Sociology -
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Subject Areas : Communication | Nursing | Psychology | Social Work | Sociology | Women's Studies - Sociology Research Guide Subject Areas : Sociology
-
Something About the Author Online (Gale)
Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Subject Areas : Education | Languages & Literature | Languages & Literature : English | Library & Information Science -
South and Southeast Asian Literature (Alexander Street Press)
South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials that will shed additional light on the rich literary heritage and emerging traditions of this region. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of classic, rare, and contemporary literature. The database currently has over 45,000 pages.
Subject Areas : Languages & Literature | Languages & Literature : English - Spanish Research Guide Subject Areas : Languages & Literature : Spanish
-
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 300,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually. Note: IUPUI subscription does NOT include SPIE eBooks.
Subject Areas : Engineering & Technology -
SPORTDiscus w/ Full Text (EBSCO)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 230 full text titles. In addition, SPORTDiscus with Full Text also contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Click here for more info.
Subject Areas : Journalism | Nursing | Physical Education | Tourism Management -
SpringerLink (MetaPress)
Search SpringerLink Journals Online.
Subject Areas : Science, General -
SpringerLink E-books
Access to over 12,000 titles in the subject areas of science, technology, mathematics, medicine and nursing. Note: If book is available to IUPUI users, the box to the right of the title will be in green.
Subject Areas : Chemistry | Computer Science | Engineering & Technology | Geology and Earth Sciences | Informatics | Mathematics | Medicine | Nursing | Physics | Psychology | Science, General -
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
On the Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Home Page you will find feature articles by Standard & Poor's analysts offering independent and unbiased opinion on the stock market, the economy and long and short-term prospects for equities, bonds, funds, and industries.
Subject Areas : Business | Business : Accounting and Finance | Business : Company and Industry -
Stash: Online Video Library of Animation VFX & Motion Design
Stash: Online Video Library of Animation VFX & Motion Design has over 3300 extraordinary projects including commercials, music videos, broadcast design, virals, game cinematics, short films and Behind the Scenes features. Stash Magazine Animation DVDs includes DVDs from 2004 to the present. Older DVDs are available at the library Circulation Desk.
Subject Areas : Informatics -
Stat!Ref (Teton Data Systems)
Provides access to full-text electronic information in latest editions of medical, chemical and pharmacological texts, dictionaries and indexes. Subjects range from emergency-critical care, nursing, oncology, pediatrics, point of care, primary care, psychiatry, pharmacology and cardiology.
Subject Areas : Medicine -
Student Resources in Context (Gale)
(Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library
with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation)Fully integrated to support information needs across the curriculum, Student Resource Center In Context contains award-winning content based on actual assignments and national curriculum standards. Students and educators will find thousands of biographies, criticisms, topical and overview essays, photographs and illustrations, hard-to-find primary source documents, and hours of audio and video files. Further, Student Resource Center In Context provides full-text coverage from more than 1,250 magazines and newspapers that are updated daily.
This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.Need Help? Try this tutorial
Subject Areas : General Interest -
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science (Collections One and Two)
SYNTHESIS is an information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. It combines authoritative content with advanced digital delivery. It is composed of 225 electronic books that synthesize an important research or development topic, authored by prominent contributors to the field.
Subject Areas : Computer Science | Engineering & Technology
