Electronic Databases & Indexes for Health Administration Research
Send comments and questions to Mary Beth Minick, SPEA Subject Librarian
Go to the School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA)
General Content (A good place to begin your research)
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier contains full text for over 2,000 serials. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985. The database includes PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. Covers a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural. Dates of coverage vary by publication.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP is designed to satisfy the broad needs of students, faculty and graduate researchers. Balanced coverage is available through 3,800 indexed and 2,200 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines including: social science journals, humanities journals, science and technology journals, medical journals, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, and many others. More than 2,500 journals are peer reviewed, and up to 25 years of backfile coverage is included.
InfoTrac OneFile
Use InfoTrac OneFile to access periodical and news content, as well as indexing from a variety of general and specialized journals – from the New York Times and Christian Science Monitor to refereed academic journals. It includes 5,156 full-text titles (more than 9,200 titles in all), full indexing of some of the world's greatest newspapers, 89 wire services covering worldwide current events, and backfile coverage from 1980 to the present.
LexisNexis Academic
This full-text database includes newspapers, wire services, transcripts of television and radio broadcasts, medical and health journals, trade journals, accounting literature, company financial reports, law reviews, statutory and case law, and public opinion polls. It is international in scope, and includes newspapers in English, Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch, and German. Dates of coverage vary depending upon the publication.
Specific Topics (taking your research to greater depths)
ABI/ INFORM
ABI/INFORM includes details on virtually every aspect of global business, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and new product development. ABI/INFORM contains bibliographic citations and 25-150 word summaries of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. The full text of articles is included for hundreds of journals.
Health Business Full Text
Health Business FullTEXT provides full text coverage for nearly 130 well-known administrative journals including H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Health Management Technology, Modern Healthcare, and many others. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration, and much more. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
Business Source Premier
Indexes abstracts, and provides full text of business publications, scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals. It covers over 8,000 journals with full text for over 4,000 of these titles.
CINAHL
The CINAHL database is a respected source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. It provides references to books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.
PubMed
PubMed is a free search engine offering access to the MEDLINE database of citations and abstracts of biomedical research articles. It is offered by the United States National Library of Medicine as part of the Entrez information retrieval system. The inclusion of an article in PubMed does not endorse that article's contents. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and more than 70 other countries primarily from 1966 to the present.
Web of Science
Web of Science indexes 5,700 major science and engineering journals, 1,700 social science journals, and 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Features include citation searching and links to related articles as well as author, title, and subject searching.

