Herron School of Art Museum Building photograph, ca. 1970s
In 1906 the Art Association of Indianapolis commissioned architects Bernard Vonnegut (son of Clemens Vonnegut, Sr.) and Arthur Bohn to design a museum building for the John Herron Art Institute at 16th and N. Pennsylvania Streets. Vonnegut and Bohn also designed other notable Indianapolis buildings like the Athenaeum (originally called Das Deutsche Haus) and the L. S. Ayres and Company department store at Washington and Meridian Streets. The Art Association owned the museum building until the association turned the Art Institute (now known as the Herron School of Art) over to Indiana University in 1967.
Access Aids:University Photographs, Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives, University Library, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis.
|HOME | EXHIBIT | EXPLORE | EXAMINE | ABOUT | OTHER | SEARCH|
Updated: 29 April 2004, RKB
Copyright © 1998-2004 - The Trustees of Indiana University
Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives |
IUPUI University Library
755 W. Michigan St.
Indianapolis, IN 46202