To find academic or non-academic articles, use databases - article search engines. Some databases, like EBSCO Academic Search Premier and ProQuest Central, are multidisciplinary and allow you to find articles from different subject areas. Others, like PubMed and PsychINFO, are more specialized and focus on a single subject.
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
Most library resources are IP-restricted. This means that, while on-campus, you can connect to any resource; but if you are off-campus you won't. Luckily, there are multiple ways to access library resources while off-campus.
- Authentication: Once you click on a database or e-journal link, there will be a pop-up screen where you log-in to authenticate yourself as being affiliated with IUPUI. As long as you keep your browser window open, you should not have to re-authenticate.
- Set up a VPN link: For the most reliable connections across the widest range of platforms and network configurations, UITS recommends connecting to the VPN with the Pulse Secure SSL VPN client. The benefit to this method is that as long as you are logged in, you can open and close browser windows just as you would on-campus.
- Set up a secure Citrix receiver link: Browse resources directly on mobile devices and run IUanyWare Software virtually.
What Do Library Databases Contain?
Data & Statistics
Test & Measures
How are Library Databases Different from Google?
Collections of materials (articles, data, dissertations) allowing you to search for information in an organized collection. This organization leads to more relevant results. Content in databases has usually undergone some sort of review process, so the material is more reliable than information found on the internet.
Google (Search Engines)
Search engines, like Google, use bots to search the Internet and find results that match the words you entered. Search engines are great for finding background information as well as information on groups and organizations but it is difficult to narrow your search and you'll often get thousands of results. In addition anyone can post anything on the web.
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is a search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources. Unlike Library Databases (which contain resources chosen by people), Google Scholar results come an automated search of the internet that is then limited to scholarly material. Because it is automated, results should be reviewed carefully as some aren't scholarly (for exampe, a high school term paper). Google Scholar is a great option if you aren't finding information about your topic in library databases.